Second read: “Slaughterhouse-Five”

Slaughterhouse-Five is the first book I read by Vonnegut, and I read it as a junior in high school. My English teacher assigned it, and I thought she was the coolest teacher in the world. We read about war, about bombing Hiroshima and Nagasaki, about abortion. I’d never had a class like hers. She had a little bookshelf behind her desk that I borrowed from for the next two years. I think Anthem and Youth in Revolt were two of her books I read.

I loved rereading S-5. I forgot that Kurt is one of the characters in the story. I remembered the line “Billy Pilgrim has come unstuck in time” but forgot that it’s the first sentence of chapter two instead of chapter one’s. I forgot how horrific the firebombing of Dresden was, even though I knew that was a main part of the book. And I forgot why the alternate title is The Children’s Crusade: A Duty Dance with Death.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second read: “Slaughterhouse-Five”

  1. I teach this to my own Juniors. This makes me happy to hear. Thanks for sharing! If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

