2014 reads in review

What an embarrassing year! I read fewer books and fewer pages in 2014 than I did in 2013 coming in at 17 books (read 18 in 2013) and 6,690 pages (after having read 9,591 in 2013, my best year for pages). My favorite books of the year were Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides and Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson (review forthcoming). I read five books by women, so the #readwomen theme didn’t go as well as I’d hoped. I started strong in the year and then forgot about it.

My reading theme this year is #reread. Nabokov says there is no such thing as reading–only rereading. And Dick Cavett says, “We’d all have been better off to have read half as many books. Twice.” There are lots of books I’d love to reread but haven’t because there are always new things to discover. This year I’m going to try rereading several books. I’m hoping this will also help increase how much I’m reading. I sometimes take previews of books from work to read because they are free, and then find myself not so into them. I want to go back to reading books because I’m excited about them.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014 reads in review

  1. Kitty says:

    Let me know how rereading goes! I’ve just started rereading a few of my favorite childhood classics. I reread The Giver over break, and loved reading it with 13 years (or so) more life experience. I did the same with A Wrinkle In Time recently. Next I’m going for my Jane Austen collection. I never thought I would reread a book, because like you said, I always want to try something new out there!

Leave a Reply

