From the Shelf: “Moby-Dick” by Herman Melville

Zach has wanted me to read Moby-Dick for a while, and I finally did. I’m glad I read it and now know what it’s like, but it took me a month* to get through. There’s not much to say about it. Everyone knows it’s about some guys on a whaling boat chasing Moby Dick, a whale. The ending was fantastic, but the 600 pages leading up to it aren’t anything near riveting. For me, the weird thing about the book was that it wasn’t difficult to read in the way I expected. It’s not challenging the way Infinite Jest (which I’ve read) or Ulysses (which I haven’t) are. Moby just requires lots of endurance and patience–lots of them. I rated it as OK on Goodreads.

I’m so pleased to have finished it. While working through Moby I also read This Is HowAugusten Burroughs‘s new book. Today I started reading She’s Not There by Jennifer Finney Boylan, and I’m enjoying it quite a bit. What I’m really looking forward to, though, is reading the third book in the Game of Thrones series.

*Correction: two months

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

