From a friend’s shelf: A Game of Thrones

I just finished reading A Game of Thrones (book one in the series A Song of Fire and Ice) by George R. R. Martin. It was absolutely addicting. Many thanks to Zam for lending me his book.

Although I don’t read them often, I have a soft spot for fantasy tales. As a child, some of my favorite books were about a girl who dressed as a boy and became a knight (The Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce). I also love The Lord of the Rings.

A Game of Thrones, as the title suggests, is about a kingdom on edge. Various lords are scheming, usurpers are afoot, alliances are broken and forged, all that. There are tons of characters and subplots, which I love, and different chapters follow different characters. You don’t only follow “good guys,” but are given the perspective of many opposing characters, which complicates things immensely if you like having someone to root for. (I think I’m going for the Starks. I’m particularly fond of Jon Snow and Arya but like the whole family–except for Sansa. It seems like a lot of the HBO watchers want Daenerys to end up on the throne. I’m getting anxious to watch the series.)

Martin tends to withhold a lot of information, which also makes reading fun. He doesn’t tell you every character’s agenda, and even after finishing the first book I don’t know where some of them stand or what they’re after. So much suspense. Despite the number of pages, I flew through it. It doesn’t seem as long as it is. I’m looking forward to reading the second.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From a friend’s shelf: A Game of Thrones

  1. Heather says:

    Oh NO. I tried to read this series with David and was turned off by the writing style. If you liked it, though, maybe I’ll give it another go.

    • Kaitlyn says:

      I thought the style was pretty unremarkable. It wasn’t as obviously simplistic as in, say, “The Hunger Games,” which I found annoying, or particularly innovative or charming that I took note. It was just there. I can’t get the story out of my head, though.

Leave a Reply

