New Year’s goals

I always skip New Year’s resolutions, since resolutions have nothing to do with the time of year. I mean, people are always starting new diets, joining gyms, deciding to be better humans, or whatever it is people resolve to do.

What makes more sense to me is making New Year’s goals. I’m on goodreads.com (though privately–don’t search for me) and made an arbitrary goal to read 30 books this year. Having no idea how many books I typically read a year (despite all my record keeping), I didn’t know if this was realistic or not. (A better goal would be pages read, but that doesn’t seem as fun for some reason. And since I don’t take my goal very seriously, who cares? The point is to read a lot.) As it turns out, I’ve finished reading 27 books. The longest book I read was The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand, which has 704 pages. My favorites were Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer and In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.

I guess my goal this year will still be to read 30 books. If I ever knock that out of the water (whatever that means) I’ll raise it.

A better goal would be to blog more often–that’s what I’ve been struggling with.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s goals

  1. Pingback: 2013 reads in review | HMS Badger

Leave a Reply

