Draining the Fountain of Youth

Now that I’m 24 and am still getting mistaken for a teenager, I’ve starting asking why. I know I look young for my age, but I should be mistaken for, like, a 20-year-old, not a high-school student.

My hypothesis: People don’t know what my age group looks like. I’m not the only recent(ish) college grad who gets mistaken for a 16-year-old.

Supporting reason 1: I think there is a tendency throw people to the poles. If you look young, you must be quite young, and if you look old, you must be ancient.

Supporting reason 2: My age group provides the actors playing high schoolers on TV.

That’s all I’ve got so far. Shout-out to all the other baby-faces out there too young to be married and/or have a job!

One last note: Men have it so easy. They can just grow a beard and add ten years to their age. What are we supposed to do? Pencil in laugh lines? (The exceptions, of course, are men dealing with patchy beards.)

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Draining the Fountain of Youth

  1. Danny says:

    I think looking old is synonymous with looking bad. So hold on to your youth! I like your tv. theory.

Leave a Reply

