From the shelf: Of Mice and Men

Holy [blank], you guys. Have you read this book? Let me set things up for you.

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck: Two field workers are looking for work: George, a mysterious and savvy guy, and Lennie, a slow-witted but great field-hand who tends to stumble into trouble. They start out between jobs because Lennie accidentally scared the daughter of their former boss. They settle into work at a new place, and things start out well enough. George and Lennie try to keep a low profile while they save up some money. Their dream is to buy their own piece of land, have their own patch of crops, and even have a bunny house (Lennie wants to take care of the bunnies). As it goes, accidents continue to happen, and the ending of this book it utterly wild. The 1920s and ’30s were certainly a different time.

I highly recommend this book. Before reading any of Steinbeck’s works, I thought he was another of those sexist, man’s-man types that wrote a lot of American classics. I’m pretty sure he’s not. Both books I’ve read (Of Mice and Men and The Pearl) were tender, and I could tell he really cared about the people his characters represented. I’m probably the last person to realize how awesome Steinbeck was. So I didn’t read Grapes of Wrath in high school–shoot me. (I was forced to watch the movie in high school, and that did not inspire me to pick up the book.)

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From the shelf: Of Mice and Men

  1. I love this book! We had to read it in school when I was about 15 and I really enjoyed it. George and Lenny are two of my favourite characters from any book. I even bought my own personal copy after leaving school.

  2. Keep hearing good things about this from people who missed reading it in school – turns out Steinbeck is much more appreciated by putting a few years between school days and reading him anyway – I only read my first Steinbeck this year as well, The Pearl and loved it. Interesting comments particularly from someone trying to teach it to students who were having none of it.

    Looking forward to adding this one to the list.

  3. Kitty says:

    Of Mice and Men, and The Pearl were not my favorites…. Clearly they are well written (classics, duh) but Steinbeck will never be a favorite. I’ve tried GoW a few times…but never made it through. If I need book that is a sad, but good thinker, I’ll stick with Ray Bradbury. I applaud you for not having my petty ability to shy away from reading things that make me feel less than happy.

    • It’s ok, Kitty…I’ve purposely never read this book because I was afraid it would be really sad. lol. But now maybe I’ll try it! That was a good review…

  4. Sidney says:

    This was one of my favorite books in high school. Perhaps someday I will share a little story regarding reading this book sometime. =-)

  5. I’m glad to hear you liked it. I think I might just go on a Steinbeck binge this fall.

  6. Heather says:

    Hooray! Thanks for reminding me that Steinbeck writes things that I like. East of Eden has been sitting on my shelf for about three years now, but I’m sure I’ll read it sooner after this review.

    One time I teased David for hugging me too hard by calling him Lennie and he has never forgiven me.

    • Kaitlyn says:

      Sara recently read East of Eden, and she was freaking out. I think I’ll have to read it sometime too.

      Oh, David. :)

Leave a Reply

