I don’t have a reading list

I have been given lists of recommended books, I have a list of books I’d like to buy secondhand, but I don’t have a reading list. I’ve never had a reading list, actually. I don’t like being committed to one, and I don’t want to feel guilty for not following the list. There is a great pool of books I’d like to read, and a lot of them are cataloged on goodreads.com. I do not adhere to ordered lists, though. I read what I want when the mood strikes me. I select a book from the pool (which has never been written down or cataloged on the internet in whole) when I am most excited about that book.

I did have an organized bookshelf. The top shelf held books I hadn’t read yet. The bottom shelf contained books I was least likely to revisit soon. The middle held the rest. DVDs filled out the ends of the shelves so they were all full, while books from college remained in boxes. I did not organize my books by author, height, color, or anything else. I liked seeing them mingle. Since my books and Zach’s will finally be combining in LA, I may have to more strictly organize them. We’ll see. I still want to have a haven’t-read shelf. It’s my favorite.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I don’t have a reading list

  1. Heather says:

    My books are categorized into haves (read) and have nots (haven’t read). Also I think your mentality is the best because I keep having to re-do my booklist so I can move books I want to read to the top. :)

  2. Danny Sabra says:

    I’m the exact same way. I have a lot of books that I want to read, but I don’t read them in order or anything like that. I basically read whatever interests me at the time. I’m also more likely to read books that friends have read, because I like talking about books with others and sharing ideas. When you’ve both read the same thing it’s one of the rare moments that I can be on the same page as someone else (pun intended)

Leave a Reply

