Crochet apple cozy

Like it? Apple cozies are really easy to make and protect your apples when you carry them around in a backpack or purse. But mostly they’re just cute. There are several free patterns available online (like here and here). My friend Kitty sent me an apple cozy last fall before I was a competent crocheter. This is the one she sent:

I made up what I did as I went along instead of following a pattern or counting stitches (I hate counting stitches). It was really straightforward. I rarely had to undo rows and basically just did what felt right. Start with a magic loop, add stitches, decrease stitches, make a loop. As you can see, I opted for a leaf rather than a flower on my cozy. I found the leaf pattern here.

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crochet apple cozy

  1. What a great idea! I have seen plastic banana cozies but never apple. Shall have to make some now. Maybe I will then stop finding bruised apples in the bottom of my bag – well will have to make a string for it so it is visible but should then work. :)

  2. Kitty says:

    AHHHHH I LOVE THAT YOU CAN MAKE THESE!!!! I talked to your parentals this morning at church….and we all cannot WAIT to see you!!!

  3. Cindy says:

    Those apply cozies are just adorable!

Leave a Reply

