Not as they appear

I learned a bit of distressing news today: Guinness isn’t vegetarian. Ah! It’s true. A lot of other beers aren’t vegetarian either, but we don’t care about those. The problem is that many beers are refined with isinglass, which is something found in dried fish bladders. If you’re one of those vegetarians who only cares about your own health you’re in luck: very little isinglass is still in the beer you drink. You probably shouldn’t be drinking beer if you’re only interested in your health, though.

Guinness. The one beer I like. Crap. Supposedly Guinness Extra Stout is vegan-friendly, so I guess I can still drink that.

Here’s a list of vegan-friendly beers. Some wines use isinglass, too, so watch out.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Food, Oddities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s