Calm cowl

Thanks to the convenience of Pinterest, the pattern for this scarf fell into my hands. I think it’s a beautiful design and yields a lovely end product. You can grab the pattern, too, but you may have to jump through a metaphorical hoop first. If you haven’t heard of Ravelry, it’s some knitting/crocheting website where people upload patterns. It’s free to join and look at everything, but you do have to make an account. That’s where you can find this pattern. Once you make an account you can download the pattern’s PDF.

I did notice a few differences between my scarf and the one featured in the pattern. The main difference is in size. The pattern says the scarf ends up being 25 cm tall with a circumference of 165 cm. Mine is 18 cm tall and has a 124-cm circumference. That’s quite a difference. The pattern doesn’t say anything about tension or gauge, so I don’t know what to tell you there. I did count out my stitches to make sure my beginning chain had the right number. I think the disparity stems from my yarn choice. I don’t exactly understand what “sport weight yarn” means. I’ve never come across any yarn that is labeled as sport weight–maybe that’s a US and not a UK thing? I grabbed a 4-ply bundle and went with it. I do know my yarn was lighter than that suggested by the pattern: 50 g of the yarn used by the pattern-maker gives you 133 m, whereas 50 g of my yarn is 226 m. Supposedly any “sport weight” will work, though, so I did my best. I don’t mind that my scarf is smaller. It fits more snugly around my neck, as cowls should.

One aspect that I found outright false was the maker’s claim that this cowl is “very quick” to make. Um, when there are 211 stitches per row, you’re not make a fast scarf. Sure, it takes less time to make this than a blanket or a sweater, but I’d say this is a bit slow for a scarf. It is really easy to make, though. Elementary.

I’m glad I found this pattern. I like wearing my scarf out or around the flat when I’m a little chilly. There’s still call for jackets here in Cambridge, so just because I finished making it in May doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy it for a bit. Hopefully. On its street debut I had to shed it after getting in town. It turned out to be a good thing, though–I wouldn’t want to spill falafel on it. (I realize now I misspelled “falafel” in some previous posts. Sorry.) My life seems to revolve around falafel these days. Can’t say I mind.

This entry was posted in Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calm cowl

  1. Sidney says:

    Love love LOVE it! That is great! You sure are crocheting beautifully!!!

  2. Kitty says:

    I second what Sidney says!!!

  3. Cindy says:

    I totally agree also. That cowl is super lovely!!

Leave a Reply

