Slumpin’

I don’t know what to blog about these days. I feel in a slump. The last two weeks have been pleasant but unexciting. The main activities any given day have been

  1. cereal and a Seinfeld (w/ Z)
  2. read (currently The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen)
  3. crochet
  4. tea time and rummy (w/ Z)
  5. dinner
  6. bed

One contributing factor to the slumpiness I’m feeling is the weather. It has rained every day for at least two weeks. When you don’t have a car, getting out in the rain isn’t that pleasant. The last time Z and I went to the market together we had to bike home in the rain. Not fun. Especially for a wimp like me who’s afraid of sliding and falling. I decided to go buy some yarn on Friday and took the bus. The bus isn’t that bad, but I still have to walk half a mile (in the rain) to get to the bus stop. And I guess that isn’t so awful. What is awful is being stuck in the city waiting for a bus that, although it’s on the schedule to arrive at 3:14p, doesn’t show up. So I wait 20 minutes for the next one, and it doesn’t show up. After an hour of standing in the rain at this stop, thinking a bus should be coming any time, a bus arrives.

Of course the bus is crowded. I wasn’t the only one waiting for the Uni 4. So we’re all damp and in this bus, and 15 minutes later I’m at my stop, which is great, but then I have to walk that half mile back to my flat, and I now have a blister on my heel because I haven’t worn my relatively waterproof boots in a while, mostly because they had been on a different continent from me for three months.

Is that a lot of whining?

So after I got back (all this for yarn) I made my favorite cookies (chocolate cake peanut butter cookies), ate three, and had tea and rummy with Z.

Tomorrow is supposed to be beautiful, high of 64°F and dry. I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slumpin’

  1. Cindy says:

    Two weeks of rain? I’d feel whiny also.

  2. Danny says:

    You’ll have to tell me if you end up liking The Connections. I almost bought it a few weeks ago, but didn’t pop on it, because it seemed pretty depressing.

    • K Arterburn says:

      I’m almost halfway through, and so far I’m not really loving it. It’s well written and interesting enough that I don’t have a problem picking it up, but it’s hard to feel connected to it. There’s a lot of harping on the Midwest, family conflict (arguing), and the characters are hard to care about. It’s hard to feel invested in a book where you don’t care if any given character drops dead. I’m often annoyed while reading it. It has the potential to get weird though, so redemption is possible.

  3. Danny says:

    Everyone says Franzen is like a genius or something..

Leave a Reply

