Crochet pattern: slouchy puff hat

I made a hat! And I’m quite pleased with how it turned out (as I should be after redoing it a thousand times). I’ve been wanting a slouchy hat for a while. I played out this desire by buying one for a friend but never actually bought one for myself. I finally have one now, one that I made. I’m not sure if they’re “in season” anymore–are these fall hats? It doesn’t really matter, though. I’m a little nervous it would fly off my head were I to bike with it, so I don’t expect to wear it out in Cambridge much this spring.

To make my hat, I ended up borrowing ideas from this and this pattern. If I had the same materials as the first pattern requires, I might have spared myself the pain of the trial-and-error method I ended up having to use, but I worked with what I had. My finished hat does look and fit quite similar to this one.

As an additional bonus, this hat is really attractive on men.

Also, even though I’d never made anything nearly as complicated as a hat (I’ve only made a few legwarmers and infinity scarves before), I didn’t find it that difficult. No need to let a lack of experience stop me from trying something new.

Pattern:

Materials: 5mm hook (US: H), 5.5mm hook (US: I), worsted yarn for 5mm hook (150 yards?)

Directions:

Using 5mm hook, begin with “magic loop.”

Row 1: chain (ch) 3 (chain counts as first stitch), 11 double crochets (dc), join with slip stitch (sl st), pull tail of magic loop to close circle  [12]

Row 2: ch 3, 1 dc in same stitch (st) as chain, 2 dc in each st around, join [24]

Row 3: ch 3, 1 dc in same st as chain, (1 dc, 2 dc in next st) around, join [36]

Row 4: ch 3, 1 dc in same st as chain, (1 dc in each of next 2 sts, 2 dc in next st) around, join [48]

Row 5: ch 3, 1 dc in same st as chain, (1 dc in each of next 3 sts, 2 dc in next st) around, join [60]

Row 6: ch 3, 1 dc in same st as chain, (1 dc in each of next 4 sts, 2 dc in next st) around, join [72]

Row 7: ch 3, 1 dc in same st as chain, (1 dc in each of next 5 sts, 2 dc in next st) around, join [84]

Row 8: ch 3, 1 dc in each st around, join [84]

Row 9: ch 3, 1 dc in each st around, join [84]

Row 10: ch 3, 1 d in each st around, join [84]

Row 11: ch 3, 1 dc in each st around, join [84]

Row 12: ch 3, (1 puff st, 2 dc) around, join in top of first puff [84]

Row 13: ch 1, (single crochet (sc) in top of puff, sc in each of next two dcs) around, join [84] (If it appears that you’re skipping your first stitch, you’re doing things right.)

Row 14: ch 3, (1 puff st, 2 dc) around, join in top of first puff [84]

Row 15: ch 1, (sc in top of puff, sc in each of next two dcs) around, join [84]

Row 16: ch 3, (1 puff st, 2 dc) around, join in top of first puff [84]

Row 17: ch 1, sc in st directly before and after each puff and decreasing over the st between dcs, around. In other words, decrease over every 3rd st. [56]

Row 18: change to 5.5mm hook, ch 1, in back loop only loosely sc in each st around, join [56]

Row 19: ch 1, in back loop only (loosely sc in each of next 6 sts, decrease over 7th st) around [48]*

Row 20: ch 1, in back loop only loosely sc in each st around [48]

Row 21: ch 1, in back loop only loosely sc in each st around [48]

Fasten off.

*I have a relatively small head (I was even told so by a foreign exchange student in an econ class), so if you find that the opening is getting too small, try decreasing over every 8th or 9th stitch in Row 19.

    

This entry was posted in Crochet patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crochet pattern: slouchy puff hat

  1. Kitty says:

    AHHHH no way!!!! I’m so proud of you!!!!! Why have you not started selling your awesome crocheted items?!

  2. celflo says:

    You look FANTASTIC in that picture!!!

  3. Cindy says:

    I agree!!!! I love that picture! The hat is awesome also!

  4. Sidney says:

    I love both pictures. I have to say that is one of the cutest pictures of you EVER! LOVE your hat. You are doing great ‘work’!

  5. Pingback: I’m blowing up! | HMS Badger

  6. Pingback: A mid-skill crocheter | HMS Badger

Leave a Reply

