Ciao Venezia!

Seeing Venice is definitely one of the highlights of my “year” abroad. The city is gorgeous. It is also crawling with tourists and tourist shops. I think it’d be a pain to live there, though we did stumble into a few quiet, residential areas that were quite nice.

I'm not sure what we're looking at here. This is a shot from the main part of the city/island toward a smaller, free-standing section.

The more elaborate building in the center is St. Mark's Basilica (a cathedral), and the building farthest right is Doge's Palace.

An albino pigeon (?) Zach was interested in. (photo c/o Zach)

One of the back canals in Venice.

My parents-in-law excited about taking a gondola ride.

Rialto Bridge is one of the main bridges in Venice and extends over the Grand Canal.

Venice is so beautiful. I wish a had a friend there that I could visit and who would show me more local haunts. It seems like such a wild place to live, but from what I hear not many Italians know other Italians living there. It is a small place. I know a guy from the mainland near Venice. He’s really nice.

I spent three days in Italy, and I loved them. There’s so much to take in, and it’s all so beautiful. The people were nice too–no run-ins with “typical Italian men” or whatever people complain about. The exception would be this one somewhat racist guy we talked to who thought I was twelve.

This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ciao Venezia!

  1. Cindy says:

    So jealous! The pictures are awesome! Would love to go there some day.

  2. Kitty says:

    This looks amazing! I love that you guys are enjoying traveling with your families, such neat experiences :)

  3. celflo says:

    We DEFINITELY need to be friends with someone living in Italy so that we can visit all of the time.

Leave a Reply

