A flower patch

While Z and I were strolling this evening, we came across this great patch of flowers. I’ve seen these flowers planted all over Cambridge but don’t know what kind they are or why they’re a local favorite. I just know they’re pretty.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A flower patch

  1. Sharon Thomsen says:

    I believe these are called daffodils, or jonquils. They just happen to be my favorite flower!
    I fell in love with this flower while reading William Wordsworth in college, because they just happened to be blooming, and they were so beautiful:

    “I wondered lonely as a cloud, That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd, A host, of golden daffodils;
    Beside the lake, beneath the trees, Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

    Continuous as the stars that shine and twinkle on the milky way,
    They stretched in never-ending line Along the margin of a bay.
    Ten thousand saw I at a glance, Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

    The waves beside them danced; but they Out-did the sparkling waves in glee;
    A poet could not but be gay, In such a jocund company;
    I gazed — and gazed — but little thought What wealth to me the show had brought:

    For oft, when on my couch I lie, In vacant or in pensive mood,
    They flash upon that inward eye Which is the bliss of solitude;
    And then my heart with pleasure fills, And dances with the daffodils.”

    • Sharon Thomsen says:

      I assume if you go to the Lake District where Wordsworth lived, wandered, and wrote, back in the day, you just might find that field of daffodils. Wouldn’t that be awesome??!(That should probably be on my personal bucket list…. )

    • K Arterburn says:

      Daffodils! They are shooting up everywhere here. You can’t escape them. You would love it!

      • Sharon Thomsen says:

        Maybe Wordsworth was really visiting Cambridge when he wrote that??

        Also, I noticed I misspelled a key word in the first line of that poem. He was WANDERING lonely as a cloud. I don’t suppose clouds wonder.

        Unless, of course, they’re imagining shapes and funny objects when they look down at all the people.

        Enjoy the daffodils!!!

Leave a Reply

