From a friend’s shelf: The Hunger Games

So, we might as well get down to it. I read The Hunger Games. This is not a stunt, and full disclosure, I have no regrets. Not one in my entire life. Isn’t that amazing? Now, keep in mind that I loved the book and can’t stop thinking about it, because what you’re about to read next is going to sound like criticism.

One thing several people told me when I’d say I was thinking of reading The Hunger Games was that it’s written better than Twilight. (No link because I will not be promoting Twilight on my blog. I just can’t bear the thought of Stephenie Meyer (and co.) making $12 from my followers.) I thought, “Hey, if it’s written well, why not give in to the hype?” To be honest, I was disappointed in Suzanne Collins‘s writing style. I thought it was quite elementary. Sorry, Suzanne. (Weird note: when I Googled Suzanne just seconds ago, I saw her picture for the first time and I realized she looks EXACTLY like how I’d pictured her.)

I became concerned. If The Hunger Games isn’t written well, what is going on in Twilight? The answer came to me when I stumbled upon a series of “Alex Reads Twilight” YouTube videos. (If you have an aversion to profanity, I don’t recommend Alex’s videos. If you love it, get clickingl!) He (Alex) talks a lot about Meyer’s writing in his Ch. 2 video. From what I’ve gathered, Twilight wasn’t written with a lot of sense. The descriptions are bizarre, and (I’ve learned this from subsequent videos (yes, I’ve watched them all)) Meyer has no conception of human physiology. At one point, Mike (or some other guy) hears Bella’s heartbeat from a few feet away. . . . What? Think about that. (You’re probably not supposed to use ellipses to just trail off. Unfortunately, Garner is in Cambridge.) Collins ones up Meyer twice then, because Collins’s descriptions make sense and her main character doesn’t hate everything about the world all the time.

Am I glad I read The Hunger Games? You already know the answer: yes. I’m a sucker for futuristic, dystopian-esque settings, and I was really pulled into the story, especially once the Hunger Games actually began. Collins does a great job entertaining her readers. Obviously, otherwise there would be no hype. I can’t wait for the movie. It is going to be so cool–did you know Lenny Kravitz is in it?

At some point I’m going to read the rest of the series. Not yet, though. I have to read something else first. (Right now I’m 83 pages into The Fountainhead and am utterly annoyed by it.) Plus I don’t want it to be over so fast. I finished The Hunger Games in three days. If I kept that pace, I’d be on the third book right now.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to From a friend’s shelf: The Hunger Games

  1. Kitty says:

    I’ve read both (full disclosure) and I love both for a quick easy read. Hunger Games was better…by far…but its obviously written for a younger audience than I. I am glad that you read it and liked it
    The link of the guy reading twilight….so funny….genius boy.
    …. and I love hearing about your books!

  2. Heather says:

    If you liked THG, you might also like a dystopic series called Uglies by Scott Westenfeld. I just read them and ended up liking them a lot more than I thought I would.

  3. Joanna says:

    have you seen alex’s friend charlie? *keke. cooking with charlie. go.

Leave a Reply

