Problems with nature

It’s 46°F in Papillion, and I thought I should be outside. The thing is I don’t have anything to do. I thought, “Maybe I’ll take a walk and break in my new flats,” but that’s a horrible idea because my parents live by an elementary school, and it’s just after 3p. I could read, but I just finished my book (Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer), and I’m not ready to dive into another one. A finished book needs time to settle. Perhaps I’ll blog? But that has also proven an awful idea, and I’ll tell you why.

I gathered my blogging supplies (Otis (my computer), Z’s lap board, water bottle, phone, and book) and went onto the porch, but there’s no chair! Our porch chairs are still hibernating. I don’t know exactly where they are, though I have some ideas, but they’re metal so I didn’t look for them. Instead I went to the garage and grabbed a lawn chair. I thought my problems were over, but when I sat down the sun reminded me that the porch faces west, which is the worst possible direction it could face. I keep having to slide my chair backwards, and now I can feel the windowsill in my back. Also, I can barely make out what’s on the screen even with the brightness all the way up because the sun is in my eyes. Awful, awful idea. Why can’t it be cloudier? Perhaps I’ll turn a different direction?

Anywho, yes, I’m still in NE. I submitted an appeal to the UKBA and still hope for a visa but am not optimistic. Fortunately, Zach has a long break coming up, so if I can’t go to him, he’ll come to me for a while. Also, Z’s been accepted by UCLA, so we’re going out west later this year. That should be fun, right?

I can barely see.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Problems with nature

  1. Kitty says:

    Oooh cute shoes!

  2. Sara says:

    “Something that says…. leather daddy?” haha.

  3. Heather says:

    So you’re both going to be in the US?! Maybe D and I will make an impromptu visit to NE. Seriously, though, I’m glad you’ll see each other sometime soon.

  4. Austin says:

    It has super nice having you back though.. I missed you over there! Sorry Zed, I’m stealing her back from you!!!

Leave a Reply

