Crochet infinity scarf

During the last month I taught myself how to crochet. Yeah, the internet helped a bit. I haven’t made very many things, but I’m excited about my latest project, a chunky infinity scarf.

For those of you who don’t crochet, it’s a really easy skill to pick up. Youtube and the library were the only resources I used. Plus, it’s not a huge investment. A crochet hook ranges from probably fifty cents to five dollars, so if you end up hating to crochet you won’t have thrown much money away. Yarn is pretty cheap, too. The biggest downside of teaching yourself to crochet is watching the stitching videos online. The people talk and talk, use slow motion at weird points, and you have to watch closeups of hands. The other thing that can suck is that you mostly learn from mistakes. Who knew tension could be important?

Something else that’s cool is that you can make things you might otherwise have bought. I liked the giant infinity scarves all the Dubliners were wearing. Made it. In one day.

For those of you who do crochet or plan to pick it up, here’s a tutorial for the scarf I made:

Materials: One 9mm hook (UK) or N-13 hook (US) and 2 skeins of Wool-Ease Thick & Quick yarn (mine is “spice” colored) or approximately 112 yards that correspond with your hook size.

  1. Row 1: Chain 125 and join with slip stitch. Make sure the chain isn’t twisted before connecting.
  2.  Row 2: Chain 1 and single crochet 125. Connect with slip stitch.
  3.  Row 3-13: Repeat row 2. Fasten off and weave in ends.

At some point, you’re going to need to transition from one ball of yarn to the other. Contrary to what your (or, at least, my) first impulse may be, you don’t tie the two pieces of yarn  together and keep stitching. That’s not right. You just sort of start stitching with your new yarn, and I guess it all stays together.

If I were to redo this, I would probably make it a little shorter, maybe only chain to 100 or 110. I’m not redoing this, however, because I’ve already redone it once. I originally made it following the tutorial on the bottom of this page. (She has another tutorial here.) There’s not necessarily anything wrong with that tutorial, I just messed up. When I finished it was really long and relatively narrow. It was also really stiff, which was probably my main problem. When I remade the scarf, I made an effort to make the stitches really loose. This made it fluffier, wider, and bendier. Just what I wanted. However, I barely had enough yarn to finish my last row, so if you go crazy with the loose stitches, you may only get 12 rows.

There’s certainly something to be said for making something by your own hands, even if it is just a scarf.

This entry was posted in Crochet patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Crochet infinity scarf

  1. Danny says:

    thats super cool.

  2. Heather says:

    Cute scarf! Thanks for posting this!

  3. You are so impressive. When I was in elementary school, my mother tried to teach me how to crochet. The only thing I ever did well was the chain thingy. After awhile, I stopped trying to do the rest and just started making chains. I gave them to my mom and called them bookmarks. When I was in high school, I found one of the “bookmarks” in the trash and started laughing. She thought I would be offended that she had thrown it away, but really I think it’s impressive she held on to it for 10 years.

    I wonder if it would be easier for me to learn now. I might have to give it another try, because that scarf is way cute.

    • K Arterburn says:

      Your mom is impressive! I bet it would be easier to crochet now. If you want to try it, you should do it!

  4. Ugh. There should NOT have been a comma in that last sentence. My apologies. I know you’re serious about your grammar.

  5. Sara says:

    I was seriously just thinking about making an infinity scarf this week. It’s like you read my mind. I am so proud of you! It looks awesome.

  6. Sara says:

    I also love that you’re wearing your glasses in that modeling picture. :)

    • K Arterburn says:

      Ha! Z gets mad at me when I put my contacts in, so sometimes I wear my glasses all day.

  7. Cindy says:

    The scarf is very cool! I love it!

  8. Pingback: A mid-skill crocheter | HMS Badger

  9. Alice Clark says:

    Learning how to crochet is not so easy; however, if you learn the techniques, you will be happy for the result. Crochet infinity scarf is wonderful and it is one of the patterns everyone can make. Thanks for sharing the tutorial, Kaitlyn. You look good on your photo together with your scarf. Love it!

Leave a Reply

