5 ingredient tofu pasta

This is one of my favorite dishes. Ever. In fact, I was a little surprised when I realized I hadn’t already blogged about it. Z and I have cooked it for a holiday and a friends and family gathering. We eat it almost every week here (I plan our meals). I never get tired of it! Z found the recipe a year or so ago in an ebook from Stone Soup. As far as I can tell, this recipe isn’t on the website but is probably in the free ebook advertised on the right side of the Stone Soup’s page. (If you download the ebook, the entry for this recipe is called “hokkien noodles with tofu, honey and soy.”) We use whole wheat spaghetti, so our prep is slightly different than Jules’s (the Stone Soup author).

Ingredients:

  • spaghetti noodles
  • 1 block of tofu
  • 1 bunch of green onion (called “spring onion” in the UK)
  • soy sauce
  • honey

What to do:

  1. Several hours (I’d suggest two at least but could be as many as 12) before you begin cooking, start drying your tofu. To dry tofu: take your tofu out of its package, lay it on its side, and slice into three or four slabs. Place the slabs on a plate or baking sheet with paper towels below and above the tofu. The tofu pieces should not be stacked and ideally won’t be touching. Place something weighty on top–but not something you want tofu juice to seep into. You probably want to replace the paper towels once or twice during the drying process, especially if you’re only letting it dry for a couple of hours.
  2. When you’re ready to begin cooking, cut the tofu into little cubes. You can either bake or fry the tofu. To fry: place tofu in pan with olive oil over medium-high heat, flipping until golden brown. To bake: preheat oven to ~375°F. Rub olive oil onto baking sheet and arrange cubes so that they aren’t touching each other very much. Sprinkle olive oil on top. Bake for 10 minutes. Take out and flip the cubes. Bake another 10 minutes. If the tofu’s not golden brown, leave in longer.
  3. Cook spaghetti noodles. If baking the tofu, bring pot of water to boil after first putting the tofu in the oven or try to time your tofu finishing its 20 minute bake a little before your noodles will be done cooking. If you want.
  4. In a bowl, combine honey and soy sauce. The ratio should be somewhere between 1:2 parts honey to soy sauce and 1:1. You don’t need a lot of sauce. In a standard cereal bowl, my mixture is about 1/4 inch tall.
  5. Chop the green onion.
  6. Combine the sauce and tofu. If you fried the tofu, turn the burner to a low heat, pour sauce over tofu, and stir. If you baked the tofu, combine in a bowl, possibly the bowl you plan to serve in.
  7. Combine noodles, tofu+sauce, and onions in a bowl. Z and I have noticed that the onions tend to sink to the bottom, so add them last and don’t over-mix.

That looks like a lot of instructions, but I swear this dish is easy. You just need to know how to dry and cook tofu. This food is cheap and delicious. Also, the leftovers are really good, and you can always add soy sauce if it’s too sweet or too dry. When Z was at his conference two months ago, I cooked this for myself and ate it for dinner three nights in a row. Z wasn’t there to cook for me–what was I supposed to do?!

This entry was posted in Main dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 ingredient tofu pasta

  1. Heather says:

    This looks delicious! We have some extra spaghetti noodles hanging about, so I think we’ll try it this week sometime.

  2. Angela says:

    Yum! I’m impressed that go through the trouble of frying tofu. I usually buy the pre-fried kind to save time!

  3. Sidney says:

    I’m so glad that you posted this recipe! This is seriously one of my favs and I haven’t made it since you and Z made it for your dinner party! Thank you :)

  4. Pingback: Risotto, pad thai, ratatouille, & lentil soup | HMS Badger

Leave a Reply

