Taking inventory, pt. 2: books

Zach and I both like to read a lot, and since Zach is also a full-time student, we had quite a dilemma when deciding which books to pack. I was being super selective, whereas Z wanted to bring every book we owned (that’s an exaggeration). Zach was quite torn when deciding which math books to bring and trying to guess which would be most useful, while I kept trying to throw out books we’d already selected. (We didn’t need to bring Return of the King.) These are the resource and leisure books that made the journey:

Boring books and Kindle on the left, worth-while books on the right. Do you want to know which books I chose? Garner, The Brothers Karamazov, Ishmael (joint decision, I think), White Noise, and The Fellowship of the Ring (joint). I’m glad The Best American Essays 2007 is here, but I could have lived without it.

Most of these books traveled in our backpacks and my purse because of the weight limit on suitcases. Our backs were breaking: some of those books are really heavy (I’m looking at you Princeton Companion and Garner). Fortunately, we’ve finished a few of these and can send them home with friends. I know for certain that four books are ready to reunite with their friends at home, and hopefully some of those math books can be shipped off as well. Unfortunately, none of these are the heavy books. My copy of The Brothers Karamazov is big but surprisingly light.

I plan to read library books for most of the remainder of our time overseas. I can get my fill of literature from the public library (which is located inside the mall–have I mentioned that?) and academic-type reads from the Churchill or University Library.

I also brought this little cutie:

I bought this a few years ago at City Limits in downtown Omaha, a kind of weird shop of oddments. I wish I could say I’d just bought it and I’d filled up one or two of these already, but I haven’t. Oh well.

It’s a pretty handy little book. Most pages ask for the title, author, dates read, and comments of a book, but a few pages have book-related quotes. The one pictured is by E. M. Forster and says, “One always tends to overpraise a long book, because one has got through it.” It also has a few pages where you’re supposed to list your all-time favorite books, your favorite books as a kid, etc. I’ll definitely have to get another when I (finally) fill this one up.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taking inventory, pt. 2: books

  1. Angela says:

    Good thing you can re-mix books, too. See how Alyosha fairs in Rivendell! While reviewing set theory!

  2. Angela says:

    Frodo considers how Garner would interpret his (Frodo’s) journey: will he be prosecuted?

  3. Angela says:

    The Axiom of Jest: Infinite Choice

  4. Heather says:

    I love that little red book!

Leave a Reply

