30 for 180 remix

I’ve recently started reading Kendi Everyday. Kendi’s blog began when she decided she wanted to upload photos of her outfits  each day, and it has become pretty popular and successful over the past few years. What I like about her blog is that her outfits are fairly normal, and though she shops a bit above my budget, all her pieces are still accessible (in other words, no $300 sweaters).

Kendi is probably best known for her 30 for 30 remixes in which she picks 30 items (clothing and shoes) and wears them for 30 days. This got me thinking about my own wardrobe, and I decided to take inventory of what I have.

Here are all the clothes I brought with me, minus some unmentionables (note: a few things aren’t pictured because I’m wearing them):

5 sweaters

7 long-sleeve shirts

8 short-sleeve knits

3 tank tops

4 sweatshirts

6 t-shirts

2 pairs of leggings

6 pairs of pants

2 pairs of shorts

3 pairs of lounge pants

4 dresses

4 coats/jackets

Total: 54 items

Like I said, those are all the clothes I’ve brought. Since arriving I’ve bought one long-sleeve shirt, one sweater, and one dress, and my mom mailed me a shirt I was missing.

Not all of the things above are really part of my daily wardrobe, though. These are basically the items I choose my outfit from everyday:

There are 28 items here, which, if I were to follow Kendi’s rules, leaves space for my boots and Vans. Basically, I’m wearing 30 items for 9 months! I occasionally wear dresses and a few other things, especially as I get more and more bored with the clothes I brought. Still, I’m getting my money’s worth out of these things. Actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if several items don’t make it home in July.

I guess I’m impressed at how little you actually need to get by. I have a lot more clothes at my parents’ house, some of which could probably be given away, and when I first got to Cambridge I’d often think of items at home, wishing I’d had room to pack them, too. Those thoughts have become less and less common these days. I imagine I’ll continue to pick up an item here and there, but overall I think I’m enjoying this minimalist wardrobe. But I’ll probably also enjoy being united with all my things in July.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30 for 180 remix

  1. Angela says:

    I know accessories don’t count into the 30, but maybe take inventory of those too.

    Also: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LYAEz777AU
    Today, I’m wearing the bunny ears style (but with a single loop because my scarf is smaller).

    • K Arterburn says:

      My paltry accessories, oh geez. I’d take a picture, and you’d say “What’s that little lump?”

      I like that video.

  2. Sidney says:

    Perhaps you could trade some clothes out when friends come to visit!

    • Angela says:

      That’s a great idea! If (hopefully this “if” will become a “when” shortly!) I visit in the spring, I will gladly bring/take back things for you and Z! :)

Leave a Reply

