Cinnamon, my favourite spice

“People love cinnamon. It should be on tables in restaurants along with salt and pepper. Anytime someone says, ‘Ooh, this is so good—what’s in this?’ the answer invariably comes back, ‘cinnamon.’ Cinnamon. Again and again.” – Jerry Seinfeld

Monday through Friday (sometimes Saturday) I eat a bowl full of Honey Cheerios, shredded wheat, and soy milk with cinnamon sprinkled on top. This dish (for it is a dish) may top my American variation of Joe’s Os (Trader Joe’s version of Cheerios) and Frosted Mini Wheats. You may as well know, Jerry and I share a passion for two things: cinnamon and cereal.

My increased cinnamon intake has led me to wonder about any potential health benefits it may have. I found lots of reports from isolated studies that it may help prevent Alzheimer’s and has positive effects for those with type 2 diabetes. What particularly struck my eye, though (Pan), is that cinnamon can aid the digestion of milk and other dairy products. It can also inhibit bacterial growth when added to food.

So my suggestion to you all is to eat more cinnamon.*

*Unless you are already taking diabetes medication or pregnant.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cinnamon, my favourite spice

  1. Danny says:

    When I was a youngster, on cold wintery mornings, my mother would give me a cup of hot chocolate and cinnamon toast. That is a favorite childhood memory of mine. I’m a rather large fan of cinnamon, yet I rarely ingest it. Despondency.

  2. Sara says:

    Whoa!! This is great news! Ima be downing that cinnamon like nobody’s business. Thanks, Katie!

  3. Sidney says:

    I am also a lover of cinnamon! I add it to my morning bowl of oatmeal and all three grandkids love Annie’s ‘sugar toast’ which in fact is cinnamon toast. We have a cinnamon broom from TJ’s in the basement to help keep spiders from coming inside. LOVE the smell.

Leave a Reply

