Quinoaed onions

Who knew you could make quinoa onion rings? I’m a big fan of onion rings, so when I found myself with half an onion in the fridge I decided to try out this exciting recipe. As you can see from the picture, I haven’t mastered frying these till golden brown, but they still tasted good and weren’t too hard to make (though I did set off the fire alarm whilst cooking).

Simple ingredients: onion, quinoa, flour, oil, water.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Pour some flour into a bowl.
  2. Pour some flour into another bowl and add water. Stir. Add water until the consistency is between soup and dough, that is, thick but not gloppy.
  3. Pour some quinoa into another bowl.
  4. Slice onion.
  5. Ring by ring, dip first into flour bowl, then into flour-water bowl, then into quinoa. Toss into pan of hot oil. Flip once or twice, cooking until golden brown.

Voilá! Quinoa-battered onion rings. This is an item best cooked with a partner–one person battering, one person cooking. Z was studying while I made these, hence the unevenly cooked rings.

Eating these made me realize how seldom I eat food this greasy. I don’t always eat well, but most of my obviously unhealthy food choices involve things like chocolate, ice cream, or cheese. I definitely would not use more than half an onion when making this again–at least not for two people–and I’d need to buy ketchup. Or mustard? Never.

This entry was posted in Sides, Vegan dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quinoaed onions

  1. Sidney says:

    Hey, those look yummy! Are you able to buy ‘ketchup’ or do they call it ‘tomato sauce’? Throw a paper towel on the plate and that will help soak up some of the grease. I’m so proud of you!

  2. Angela says:

    Quinoa is the best!

    What’s wrong with mustard? Sugary, watery tomato sauce has nothin’ on whole grain mustard!

  3. Pingback: Eggplant parmesan | HMS Badger

Leave a Reply

