A latte debacle

I’m not advocating going to Starbucks instead of a local coffee shop, but the reliability and familiar feel of Starbucks is sometimes appreciated. Starbucks isn’t the same here, though. It lures me in with promises from home then stares at me dumb. You already know about my problems getting iced coffee. Wait till you read what else Starbucks is missing.

No pumpkin spice latte*!

I know: what? Isn’t this one of their best-selling holiday drinks? I don’t know, but it seems like it would be. I mean, what’s autumn without pumpkin spice? Good thing I had the chance to enjoy one before I moved.

Also, though I thought I’d mentioned this elsewhere (but maybe didn’t?), no GTLs! No green tea lattes, with or without soy. “Latte?” she says to me. What’s a girl to do? This is a go-to drink in heat or frost. I’m going to be slurping these down next July till my pee is green.

I’d already accepted that double shots (long absent from Starbucks menus) probably wouldn’t be available, but this is too much. What is nice, though, is that my Starbucks card works here, so I can still get stars and free drinks and whatnot. But where, oh, where is my GTL? It’s far superior to a chai latte.

*For some reason I thought “latte” ended with an accented “e,” but I’ve found no evidence in support of this.
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A latte debacle

  1. Kitty says:

    Would you be willing to make your own GTL? I may be able to muster up a little homeade recipe that could taste deceptively similar!

    • K Arterburn says:

      I used to make iced GTLs quite frequently with matcha powder from Whole Foods. They were pretty good!

  2. Danny Sabra says:

    My mother thinks that Pumpkin may be a “new world” food. that may explain why they don’t have it in the motherland.

  3. celflo says:

    I am going to drink 2 tomorrow in honor of you and Z.

  4. Pingback: What’s Thanksgiving, again? | HMS Badger

Leave a Reply

