It’s like riding a bike, you never forget…

Except sometimes you do. I don’t know who came up with that phrase, but it’s a horrible analogy and an even worse truism. Z and I finally have our second bike, and it’s darling. We bought it on Tuesday, a hybrid womens bike, purple, and all that, fitted with mudguards and lock. Nigel (the man who made it and sold it to me) called it a Frankenstein (because it’s made from several bikes (though we all know it should be called a Frankenstein’s monster), but it rides beautifully and even has a new tire and bike seat. However, this didn’t stop me from falling on some gravel while test riding it or from falling in a thorn bush today. I refuse to be discouraged, though. It’s hella faster to get around on a bike, and roads don’t really have sharp turns, so I should be fine. I’m just tired of falling.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of falling, when I fell in that thorn bush, though I didn’t hurt myself, I collected hundreds of tiny thorns in my jeans. Will they come out if I wash them or will that only root them deeper in the pants (or help them spread to other clothes)?

This entry was posted in Day-to-day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s like riding a bike, you never forget…

  1. Cindy says:

    I think I would try and get the thorns out before washing, but if you want to try washing them first, only wash the jeans – without other clothes with them.

  2. Danny Sabra says:

    in my personal experience, washing the jeans will still leave plenty of thorns in them. but it kinda depends on the thorns. I’d just pick them out by hand.

    and don’t worry! you’ll get your “sea legs” soon! just keep riding!

    • K Arterburn says:

      I’ve got really tiny thorns. I tried picking the biggest ones out, but you have to feel them to even find them! Ugh, why couldn’t I fall onto something less involved?

  3. celflo says:

    You look SOOO great with your bike!!!

Leave a Reply

