There and back again: A pictorial retelling of our journey to Grantchester

Two weeks ago today I walked to Grantchester Orchard with the +1s while our partners were retreating. Finally I had a chance to take Z there with me. Below are a map and photos from our walk there and back.

This is a rough re-creation of our journey. We started at the northern point. I know it's 3.1 miles from our flat to Grantchester Orchards (which is about an hour walking). We walked through the City Centre on the way back, stopping at the Gates Room (not pictured below) and an ATM (also not pictured). We were out pretty much all day.

There are some wacky road signs here.

These mashed up houses are everwhere. I love them.

"Real tennis" is different than the tennis we're used to. Apparently it's only played in a few places in the world.

We took this walking path to the University Library.

University Library

Red Bull place

As I said, I love these houses.

One of these would be perfect for Z and me.

Path to Grantchester Orchard

Part of the River Cam (?)

Meadow

I have a hard time fitting both our heads in frame.

The path by the river

We saw lots of cows.

Our path changed a little.

Street art

A quaint church

Grantchester Orchard! These tables and chairs are everywhere, millions of 'em.

Our tea (and coffee) setting from the historic tea house there.

People here go crazy for clotted cream.

This kid put an umbrella up. It wasn't raining.

No one was eating inside.

We passed more cows on the way out.

And Amelia and Abigail Gabble! Just kidding--the Gabbles were geese.

Classic

Park

There are lots of punts here.

I believe this building belongs to Queens College.

The Mill! Just like in Lincoln.

We walked by some construction.

Like I said. Everywhere.

I think this might be an old folks place. Don't really know.

An ugly statue at Churchill College--we're almost home!

This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to There and back again: A pictorial retelling of our journey to Grantchester

  1. Cindy says:

    Lovely!

  2. Sara says:

    what a great journey! also, your windswept hair looks great in the picture of the two of you.

  3. celflo says:

    Excellent!!! I love seeing your pictures!!

  4. Susan Tracy says:

    Kaitlyn, you have a really nice photographic “eye.” Did you take these with your phone or a regular camera? I am so impressed! They really are good.

    • K Arterburn says:

      Well thank you! It’s hard to take bad photos when the scenery is so charming. I did take them with a regular camera, not a phone.

  5. Andrew G says:

    Hello,
    I am a student in Cambridge. Do you mind if I use one of your photos from this post for my website? I wrote a song about Grantchester, and am looking for an appropriate photo. I’d be happy to send you a link to the song once I upload it.
    Thanks!
    -Andrew

Leave a Reply

