Iced coffee, please

I’ve had many opportunities to drink tea while here, and though I’ve had it a few times, I generally opt for coffee. Why? It’s better. I’ve visited several coffee shops (I’m not sure if that’s the right term given the amount of tea drinking here) and noticed a thing or two.

1. Coffee with milk is called “coffee white.” I first heard this term used on our overseas flight and assume its common.

2. Most coffee shops only serve espresso-based drinks, which means you can’t order an ordinary coffee. An Americano (espresso and hot water) is almost the same (but not). Starbucks still serves coffee.

3. What does Starbucks not serve here? Iced coffee. I was so disappointed. The weather’s been in the 60s and 70s (or, 18°C+) our whole stay, and I tend to get hot walking around. I asked for an iced coffee (not even a double shot), and the barista had no idea what I was asking for. I ended up with hot coffee with ice thrown in, this semi-cool beverage. I was still happy to have it.

Now for two crappy pictures of one Starbucks’s extended seating in its basement:

This entry was posted in Coffee, Oddities and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Iced coffee, please

  1. Kitty says:

    Sad!!!! I’m so dissapointed to hear about the lack of iced coffee!!!! But I like the new phrase- coffee white!

Leave a Reply

